Favourite Bible Verses – November 2016

In the month of November this year, I made a point to spend more time reading devotional materials. I have been very far behind in my bible study and reading of Christian literature, so this is one baby step towards picking up the pace.

This is a round-up of my favourite bible verses, gleaned from the devotional reading last month (not in any order of preference).

#1 Galatians 6:4-5 Each one should test their own actions. Then they can take pride in themselves alone, without comparing themselves to someone else, for each one should carry their own load.

#2 Hebrews 12:1 … let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily hinders our progress. And let us run with endurance the race that God has set before us.

#3 Ephesians 4:26 And don’t sin by letting anger gain control over you. v29 Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them.

#4 Psalm 141:3 Take control of what I say, O Lord, and keep my lips sealed.

As we can see here, there is an emphasis on being focused and moving ahead. There is also a desire to watch out for the words that come out of my mouth, because too often I catch myself saying things which I shouldn’t have, and not saying words which I should.

In this month of December, it is also good to reflect upon the past year, of our achievements, shortcomings and to take note of these life lessons as we move into the new year.

Leave a Reply

